Privy Council Amendment

Schedule 1: Append the following to Article IV of the Constitution:

(h) Privy Council

The Privy Council is an executive body which may exercise prerogative powers (the powers of the President) on behalf of the President. The Privy Council has three members: the President, the Secretary of Defense, and the Speaker of the Senate.

- 1. Where the President has already exercised prerogative powers, the Privy Council cannot act to undo, redecide, or subvert it. For example, where the President has vetoed a Senate Bill, the Privy Council cannot then grant Presidential Assent.
- 2. The Privy Council may be granted and denied uses of prerogative powers by:
 - a. The agreement of the President and at least one other member of the Privy Council;
 - b. The same means and restrictions as amending the Constitution.
- 3. The Privy Council is required to maintain a public record of which prerogative powers it is permitted to exercise, any limitations they may have, and which are denied.
- 4. The Privy Council may exercise prerogative powers upon the agreement of the other two members. The agreement of the President makes a vote in the Privy Council moot as the President can already exercise those powers.

Schedule 2: Establish the following as the "public record" required by Article IV (h) (3) of the Constitution:

The Privy Council shall have the right to exercise any prerogative power unless limited or denied by the following:

- a. The Privy Council may only grant Presidential Assent to Senate Bills upon the expiration of a reasonable period (typically 24 hours) after a pinged request for Presidential Assent has gone unanswered by the President.
- b. The Privy Council cannot grant Presidential Assent to amendments to the Constitution. This will also deny the Privy Council from granting uses of prerogative powers to itself, or denying them from itself, under the "same restrictions" clause of Article IV (h) (2) (b) of the Constitution.

Schedule 3: The Privy Council shall be unable to exercise any prerogative power until the start of the next Senate term (January 2025).